Wednesday, July 12, 2017
  • Welcome to the forum!

Welcome to the War History Online Community Forum, please register or login to start commenting.

Maryann Harty

Please stop using the term "awarded"

PLEASE  have your writers STOP using the term "awarded or win" when referring to someone who has RECEIVED the Medal of Honor.

Those people didn't go out planning to "WIN" the MoH...It's a small request but it is the correct way to refer to this great honor.

Regards,

Maryann

I agree that "win"is quite inappropriate. Actively seeking a decoration is seldom an aim of the receipient.

On the other hand " Awarded" seems fine. It is a acknowledgement by authority of heroism rather than a goal of the hero.

As a writer, I think it's a very valid point.  However, I'm not sure how I feel about the term "awarded".  If we take into consideration the modern use of the word and it's actual definition, it can easily be taken to mean the actual process of presenting something that is due.  In that respect, I don't think it has the quite the same connotation as "win".  Having said that, it can be understood to mean the presentation of a "prize" which the original poster is objecting to.  I definitely understand and agree with ceasing to use the term "win" when speaking of the Medal of Honor but I think "awarded" might be debatable.  Anyone else have any thoughts?

3 hours ago, Jon M Brown said: